NaBloPoMo: An Experiment in Blogging (Day 1)

So as my more creative readers may be aware, today is November 1st. This is important because it heralds the start of National Novel Writing Month, known colloquially as NaNoWriMo. A frenetic literary adventure, NaNoWriMo challenges its participants to hammer out a 50,000 word novel in just 30 days. No one said it had to be good, just that it had to be 50,000 words. Could you write the word “the” over and over and still count yourself as a “winner”? Sure, but the point of NaNoWriMo is to give people that say “I have an idea for a story I’ll write one day” the kick in the pants they need to get started. Ending the month with a sloppy first draft is definitely better than what you started with: a dreamy “one day” aspiration and a half-formed idea.

I have participated in NaNoWriMo three or four times over the past few years. Unfortunately, I have never reached the goal of 50,000 words in a month. Last year’s attempt was on track to reaching my goal. I had a good idea, some free time, and was writing my heart and soul into this admittedly haphazard piece of work. However, Nature decided to intervene and I injured my hand right as I passed the 36,000 word mark. Am I disappointed? A little. But looking back and seeing how much I accomplished over that short period is still inspiring to me today.

Therefore, in the spirit of NaNoWriMo, I’ve decided to instate what I call NaBloPoMo, or “National Blog Posting Month”, in which I will write one blog post per day. The topics may vary across the fields of math and science, peppered in with a few anecdotes and opinions about technology and education. Completing a post each day will not only encourage me to write more, it will more than double the current number of posts I have on this blog and allow me to develop my ideas in a structured format. I’m in the process of applying to graduate school for computer science, and I need the practice writing about my interests and goals.

So here goes. This will be my first post of NaBloPoMo, November 1st. Follow along by signing up for email updates or accessing the RSS feed. Each update is also posted to my twitter account, which you can find at @musegarden. If you have ideas or questions for me, I’d be happy to hear them. Send me a message on twitter or leave an idea right in the comments here.

One comment on “NaBloPoMo: An Experiment in Blogging (Day 1)

  1. […] (If you’re wondering what this “Day 5″ business is about, check out my blog post describing my writing challenge here .) […]

Leave a Reply

