Day 3: Becoming Good at Something

A bit late, but a Day 3 post nonetheless. One of my friends from out of town came to visit me last minute for my birthday, so I’ll be keeping this short. I want to talk about something I’ve had on my mind recently. Now I know that not everyone can be good at every thing. Most people don’t have the good fortune to even be really good at one thing. However, as long as I can remember I’ve had trouble asking for help. Yes, I know its one of my flaws. But I just get intimidated when someone is vastly better at something than I am and I don’t know how to ask for help without being judged.

Perhaps its my own insecurities. Even my closest friends I feel weird about asking how to do things, because I keep thinking “oh they’re so much better at this than me, it will seem silly to ask such a question”, but at the same time, how does one improve if not by asking questions? I’ve  always had this weird sort of issue, and I’ve been trying to do better about it, but is it possible that I’m holding myself back because I feel intimidated by asking people for help? I’m so afraid of being judged or looked down upon I often don’t ask at all, and when someone does try to help me with things, I often wrongly feel like they are being condescending toward me. It’s really an unfortunate phenomenon, but I’m not sure what else I can do about it but keep on moving on.

Sorry for the short personal post tonight, was running out of time and didn’t have time to write a whole technical thing. Back to the SCIENCE tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

