Day 4: Birthday Thoughts

Welcome back for day 4 of my NaBloPoMo, in which I’m writing one post each day for the month of November. Today is my birthday, and as such I did a bit of personal introspection regarding things I have done over the last year and things I would like to do differently in the next year. Today I am 22 years old. Most would say that’s still pretty young, but for me I feel like I’ve already seen a quarter of my life go by. It’s disheartening to think back on these 22 years of life and realize that wow, I really haven’t done much with myself. I know  people that are much younger and much more successful than I am, already. It makes me feel like perhaps I’m doing something wrong, but I’ve been trying the best I can to work hard and do well.

One thing that I’ve been having a lot of trouble with lately is concentration. My attention span is shot, I can’t stay interested in things, and its becoming increasingly difficult for me to focus on school stuff or even stuff that I want to do. You might say, well that’s normal, everyone gets distracted or procrastinates sometimes, but its really been hindering my quality of work lately. I’ve read all the advice, made plans, tried to work better, but nothing seems to be working. I’m afraid I’m going to fall off the wagon with this blogging challenge too, but I’m determined to keep it up so far. It’s just disappointing, because I can’t seem to finish things that I start and I just get distracted so easily now, its hurting my school life and with me applying for graduate school programs, that’s not a good thing at all. I guess I’ve had a lot on my mind stress-wise what with the grad school thing. I just hope I can pull out of this slump soon.

Sorry for a personal rant of a post again, have been really busy this weekend and also (if you couldn’t tell) have been in a down sort of mood. I still plan to update this blog each day as I go on. Stay tuned for your regularly scheduled math/science posts in the future.

Leave a Reply

