Day 11: On Burnout

So I was thinking about things this weekend. I came to the conclusion that I really have way too much on my plate. I’m stressed out and busy all the time, but I don’t know what I can cut or do better to ease this. I have a history of overcommitting myself, and its coming back to bite me in the butt once again. Let’s see, to start with, I’m taking 17 credit hours of classes, along with about 15 hours per week of work, I volunteer at the high school robotics club on Wednesday afternoons, I often drive my roommate to and from work because she can’t get around easily, and somehow I’m supposed to find time to study and do homework in there as well. Let’s not start on graduate school applications (I don’t want to talk about it…) Oh yeah, and having some time to eat and sleep would be nice too.

I’ve tried managing my time better, I’ve tried doing my most important work during my best hours of the day (I have learned I can’t get *anything* done if I’m sleepy). I just can’t seem to find anything that works for me. I guess I should probably drop the robotics club but I need something that seems relevant for my grad school applications that I’m having a miserable time completing. Everything just seems really overwhelming right now. I’ll get back on track tomorrow, or the next day maybe. I’ll be fine. I just feel like I am constantly going and going and I can’t seem to find a break. Winter break can’t come quickly enough.

2 comments on “Day 11: On Burnout

  1. Someone Website says:

    Stay strong, hang in there =( Don’t be discouraged, and don’t let anyone else discourage you too. Ignore the silly naysayer(s) who talk(s) too much. Just 30 more days. You ultimately know what’s right for you though.

Leave a Reply

