A Genetic Algorithm for Computing Ramsey Numbers: Update

Friends_strangers_graph

All the 78 possible friends-strangers graphs with 6 nodes. For each graph the red/blue nodes shows a sample triplet of mutual friends/strangers.

In my last post on this topic, I discussed how I was working on a genetic algorithm to search mathematical graphs for elusive properties called Ramsey Numbers. (For a refresher on genetic algorithms,  visit here, and for a refresher on Ramsey Numbers, visit here). I’ve been doing some work on it since then (check out the code here), and I thought I would describe some improvements and further progress I’ve made in this area.

New features:

  • colorings dumped to a file at the end of each run
  • ability to load in data sets from file, further refining of the data than starting from scratch each time

The next problem I ran up against while working through this was that even if I am able to load in previously analyzed data, I still only have one fitness function that checks a static set of edges. As I see it, there are two ways to solve this:

  • Make the current fitness function dynamic; that is, it tests a different set of edges every time. However, this is counterproductive to the purpose of the program “eliminating” certain sets of edges in each “round”. However, this would be easier to maintain than the other option, which is
  • Make a “FitnessHandler” method that takes in a value for which method to run, and uses that to determine what set of edges to test. However, this would lead to a lot of extra code and overhead. I’m thinking having a static variable at the beginning of each run with what “fitness method” to start on, so that it doesn’t have to start on round one each time.

I haven’t fully decided which of these I will go with. I feel like the second one fills my purpose of methodically “weeding out” the improbable graphs, but its going to be a lot of extra work. Oh well, nothing worthwhile ever came easy…

Leave a note here or on my github if you have suggestions!

Leave a Reply

